Sign up for email inspiration, tips and news for your next visit to Lincoln

The Greyfriars background image

Cultural Quarter, City of Lincoln
The Greyfriars

The Greyfriars

The oldest surviving friary building in England housed in the heart of Lincoln's Cultural Quarter, dating back to the early 13th century.

The Greyfriars in Lincoln were built soon after Fransiscans arrived in the city in the 1230s and given land stretching north from the River Witham to where Silver Street is today. The friary and church were completed by the 1280s and a stone-vaulted first floor was added soon after.

It was used by the religious order until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1538 - however it has been put to many uses since.

It was opened as a Free School in 1568 by Richard Monson and used as Corporation Grammar School until 1900. During that time it was also home to the House of Correction (1612), Jersey School for the teaching of spinning and knitting of wool (1620s) and the Mechanics’ Institute (1833-1862) which was founded by John Boole, father of mathematician George Boole.

From 1907 to 2004 it was Lincoln's premier museum before the artifacts were moved to the purpose built The Collection. Now it is open only occassionally as an exhibition space.

Recent research suggests that this building is one of the earliest surviving Franciscan friary churches in Europe and the oldest friary building in England. Other friary buildings in Lincoln, including the kitchen, refectory, and dormitory, were excavated in the 1990s when the Central Library was redeveloped.

Lincoln's Cultural Quarter

A vibrant hub at the heart of the city

Opening Times & Prices

Greyfriars is not normally open to the public. Occassionally it can be accessed as an exhibition space.

Trails at The Greyfriars

Location for this Event

Google Map
Soak Up the Cultural Quarter (in The Collection)

More Like this

Don’t want to miss a thing?

Subscribe for tips and advice on our newsletter

Sign Up